web analytics

Pakistan’s Zaheer Abbas is the new ICC prez

MUMBAI: Former Pakistan captain
Zaheer Abbas assumed the role of the
ICC president on day three of the ICC
Annual Conference week in Barbados.
The post of president is a ceremonial
one as the real authority vests with
the chairman under the new ICC
Abbas replaces Bangladesh’s A.H.M.
Mustafa Kamal who had resigned after
being denied the opportunity to give
away the trophy to the champions in
the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015. He
was also upset over the
“controversial” umpiring during the
Bangladesh-India quarterfinal match
at Melbourne.
Zaheer began his one-year term and
thanked the ICC board and the full
council for confirming his nomination.
He said: “I feel truly honoured and
humbled to be appointed as the
President of the governing body of our
great game.
“This is the sport which has given us
friendship, respect, recognition and
an opportunity to serve our countries
in different capacities. Personally
speaking, it has given me more than I
can ever possibly repay.
“I am thankful to all of you for the
support and confidence placed in me by
confirming my nomination. I am also
grateful to the PCB for proposing my
candidacy as the ICC President. I
assure you all that I will stand
shoulder to shoulder with all the ICC
Members as we continue to strive to
inspire more and more people to fall in
love with the game we cherish.”
ICC Chairman N. Srinivasan
congratulated Zaheer on his
appointment, when he said: “Zaheer’s
outstanding career as a stylish right-
handed batsman is reflected in his
remarkable record with 108 first-
class hundreds and more than 7,500
international runs.
“Zaheer is clearly an iconic cricketer
who always played the game with
skill, flair and in the true spirit. He is
a worthy ambassador of our great
Zaheer, 67, played 78 Tests and 62
ODIs from 1969 to 1985 in which he
scored 5,062 and 2,572 runs,
respectively. He also played in the
1975, 1979 and 1983 ICC Cricket
World Cups and captained Pakistan in
14 Tests and 13 ODIs. With 108
centuries, Zaheer is the only Asian
batsman to score a century of first-
class centuries as he finished his 22-
year career with 34,843 runs.
Zaheer was also an ICC match referee
in the 1993 series between Sri Lanka
and the West Indies in Sri Lanka.
The ICC Council also approved the
admission of the Serbia Cricket
Federation (SCF) as the 58th affiliate
member of the ICC.
Regrettably, the ICC Council agreed
to suspend the affiliate memberships
of Morocco and Turkey, while Brunei
was removed as an affiliate member.
The ICC has 105 members.
The ICC President’s role will be
rotated in the following order:
– CSA (2016-17)
– ZC (2017-18)
– WICB (2018-19)
– ECB (2019-20)
– Associate/Affiliate Members
– Associate/Affiliate Members
– BCCI (2022-23)
– SLC (2023-24)
– CA (2024-25)
– NZC (2025-26)
– BCB (2026-27)

Pakistan’s Zaheer Abbas is the new ICC prez

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

a © 2017 Frontier Theme