Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Bangladesh pips West Indies to qualify for Champions Trophy 2017
MUMBAI: Bangladesh has replaced the
West Indies in the ICC Champions
Trophy 2017 as the latter finished
outside the top eight in the ICC ODI
Team Rankings on the 30 September
2015 cut-off date. West Indies
finished at the ninth spot with 88
Bangladesh will thus return to the
ICC Champions Trophy for the first
time since 2006 after the eight sides
were confirmed for the 2017
tournament, which will be hosted by
the England and Wales Cricket Board
(ECB) from 1 to 18 June.
The eight sides to play in the short
and sharp, nation-versus-nation ICC
Champions Trophy 2017 are (in
rankings order): world champion
Australia, title holder India, 1998
winner South Africa, 2000 champion
New Zealand, 2002 co-winner Sri
Lanka, host England, Bangladesh and
Bangladesh’s last participation in the
ICC Champions Trophy was in India
when it featured in the qualifying
round. It lost to Sri Lanka (by 37
runs) and the West Indies (by 10
wickets). Its only victory was against
Zimbabwe by 101 runs.
Since the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015,
Bangladesh cricket has been on a high
and has produced very strong
performances. It won ODI series
against Pakistan, India and South
Africa, which has helped it jump from
ninth to seventh in the ICC ODI Team
The ICC Champions Trophy 2017 will
be a 15-match tournament, with
teams split into two groups of four,
with the top two teams in each group
progressing to the semi-finals. The
groups and the schedule for the ICC
Champions Trophy will be announced in
due course.
With the sides for the ICC Champions
Trophy 2017 now confirmed, the next
important qualification date in the
diaries of the 12 teams on the ICC ODI
Team Rankings will be 30 September
That is the date when the top eight
sides on the ICC ODI Team Rankings
will earn direct qualification for the
ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, to be
hosted by the ECB. The bottom four
sides will get a second chance to
complete the 10-team line-up in the
ICC Cricket World Cup when they will
be joined by teams from the ICC World
Cricket League Championship and the
ICC World Cricket League Division 2 in
the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier
As such, all bilateral ODI cricket in
the lead up to 30 September 2017,
including the ICC Champions Trophy
2017, will now have greater
importance as only 27 points separate
second-ranked India from the ninth-
ranked West Indies.
ICC ODI Team Rankings (as on 30
September 2015, top eight sides have
qualified for the ICC Champions
Trophy 2017):
Rank Team Points
1 Australia 127
2 India 115
3 South Africa 110
4 New Zealand 109
5 Sri Lanka 103
6 England 100
7 Bangladesh 96
8 Pakistan 90
9 West Indies 88
10 Ireland 49
11 Zimbabwe 45
12 Afghanistan 41

Possibly Related Threads...
ThreadAuthorRepliesViewsLast Post
  NEWS:TeamIndia to play two T20Is against West Indies on August 27 and 28 in USA Nilu334 0 158 Tuesday 02-August-2016, 18:21
Last Post: Nilu334
  Champions trophy 2017 schedule launch Nilu334 1 188 Wednesday 01-June-2016, 18:19
Last Post: MJ786
  Breaking FIRST: Pakistan Tour of West Indies from 14 July MJ786 1 885 Tuesday 04-February-2014, 10:17
Last Post: yass100
  Breaking NOW: 'India vs West Indies 0 849 Tuesday 22-October-2013, 13:53
Last Post:
  CHANNEL LIST: ICC Champions Trophy : No Yuvi & Gambhir Vadirocks 2 799 Saturday 04-May-2013, 19:41
Last Post: MAHI

Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)